California Beer Fest 2013

CA Beer Fest 2013As I alluded to in an earlier post, I got to attend the California Beer Festival in Ventura. A small affair, to be sure, but still everything I expected it would be. There were over 50 microbreweries represented there, both local and from around the country. For our “entertainment” they had a Michael Jackson “tribute” (read: “cover”) band onstage. As we began to make our way down the line of booths with our tiny sample cups (see below), I decided I would start with the more familiar brews. I don’t rightly remember the name of it, but it was at the Widmer booth and it was a red. Good enough, though a little on the hoppy side– even for a red. So the day wore on like that and over the course of 12-14 different samplers, I forgot the rest of the brews I tried (ever forget? Happened to me…). I never made it to the Ninkasi booth and I had been looking forward to trying their stuff.  Oh well, I will be taking a trip to Portland in a couple of weeks, so I’ll hit them up while I’m there. Suffice to say, I enjoyed myself, despite the tidal wave of IPA that seems to be overtaking the industry. IMG_1553

I am looking forward to any other of the numerous festivals that are being held in and around San Diego for Oktoberfest. I would really like to hear in the comments about some of your favorite beer events. It will give me something to shoot for next time!

, , , , ,

  1. Corona Is King In California « The Califia

Leave a Reply

