Dinner & Dessert in a Glass

IMG_1557[1]I just tried a new release by Karl Strauss at, where else, my favorite neighborhood haunt. In short, the Peanut Butter Cup Porter is a humongous, tasty beer. Got it poured, but had to wait for it, as it was quite busy, so the head was all but non-existent by the time I saw it. It looked to be a pretty dark off white/tan color that complimented the super dark, barely opaque nectar in the glass. It smelled very rich, like a bag of Tollhouse chocolate chips. I didn’t take any peanut butter from the smell, though. The taste, on the other hand, was just about all the peanut butter the smell was lacking. It first hit me as engine oil, very thick on my tongue, rich, though not sweet, and somewhat chocolatey toward the middle. It finished with a nice alcoholic warmth.

All in all, not a beer I could drink all the time, but a good one, nonetheless.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

