It’s so good, it’s stupid!

IMG_1750

Oh, Coronado, how I love thee. Well, at least I love thine beer…anyway, this came across my Facebook feed and I so wanted to go. Alas, I had to be at work during the hour of the event, so a friend went for me and picked up this special limited release barrel aged Stupid Stout. I really like their normal Stupid Stout, but this one was aged in oak bourbon barrels, giving it what I expected to be a sweetness that usually accompanies barrel aged beers.

That couldn’t have been further from the truth. It poured smooth, with a frothy, soapy medium tan head that further confirmed my preconceived notion that this was going to be a super rich tasting beer. Smelling it, I got rich coffee and bourbon flavors. While not particularly boozy, I could definitely tell this was a pretty alcoholic beer. The first sip, much to my pleasant surprise, was like dipping my tongue into a smooth, glass of oaky straight bourbon. It dominated my palette right off the top. The flavor faded to the coffee notes and finished with the warmth from the alcohol.

What surprised me most about this quite mellow beer was how it avoided the over sweetness common in barrel aged beers. Also, the absence of the customary stout bitterness was a little unexpected, but not at all missed in this brew. It combined two things I love dearly: whiskey and beer and for that I applaud Coronado Brewing Company.

My only regret is that I may not be able to find it before the Super Bowl.

IMG_1749

IMG_1748

, , , ,

  1. Any Port in a Storm | Somethin's Brewin'

Leave a Reply

