Shot through the heart!

IMG_1767…and this wonderful liquid is to blame. Happy Valentine’s, everybody! If you drink this particular brew from AleSmith, it will be extra happy, if not a bit hoppy (sorry…) Anyway, My Bloody Valentine Ale is a beer for all you love-sick beer drinkers out there.

This red ale pours a deep red color with off whitish, soapy head that dissipates quickly. The picture to the left was taken about one minute after pouring. The first whiff brought a floral scent to my nose, quickly followed by a sweet maltiness that excited by taste buds. When my buds finally got their turn, they told me I was tasting a sweet, flowery IPA style beer. At this, I thought, “Uh oh…” The hoppiness subsided quickly and was taken over by the wonderful malty flavors this beer delivers in abundance. I was left with a pleasant malt flavor in my throat, with faint hints of the sweet flowers.

At 6.66% abv (cute, right?), the alcohol is not too much to take, but for me the floral hops may give me some trouble were I to drink more than one in a sitting. Still not a bad beer by any means.

IMG_1772IMG_1768

, , ,

  1. Mira Mesa Festival of Beers | Somethin's Brewin'

Leave a Reply

